Jul 19, 2007

The 60-Hour Practice Driving Law: Unitended Consequences for Maryland’s Economy

Maryland has some of the most extensive driver’s licensing requirements in the nation.
In fact, Maryland is the only state that requires new drivers of all ages to complete the same driver’s education and practice requirements.

Most significantly, all new drivers must complete 60 hours of supervised practice, in addition to 36 hours of drier’s education, before being eligible for a license.  This law has created a new barrier to mobility and employment for low-income adults.  JOTF explores these issues in its report, “The 60-Hour Driving Practice Law: Unintended Consequences for Maryland’s Economy.”

Download the Report (PDF)

Related Reports